Have You Met…Adi?


We're delighted to welcome Adishesh Narahari aka Adi to the Bayliss Lab! Adi is a student in the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) who is beginning his first year of…

Alumni Weekend Brings Allison Back to Town


We were thrilled to see Allison Aiello, who came "home" for Alumni Weekend! Allison earned her PhD in May 2007 and she is currently a Senior Scientist at Pfizer Pharmaceuticals in Cambridge, MA.

Janelle Weaver Earns PhD!


Final exercises are this weekend and we say farewell and congratulations to Janelle Weaver, who is earning her PhD. Earlier this year, Janelle received the 2016 Outstanding Graduate Student Award…

Janelle Weaver Wins 2016 Outstanding Pharmacology Graduate Student Award!


Congratulations to Janelle Weaver on being selected as the 2016 Pharmacology Outstanding Graduate Student! Janelle’s performance throughout her tenure as a graduate student in the Medical Scientist Training Program and the Pharmacology Graduate…

Doug Bayliss Honored as Distinguished Scientist


Congratulations to Douglas Bayliss, Joseph & Frances Larner Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Professor of Anesthesiology, who was selected to receive the University’s 2015 Distinguished Scientist…

Natasha Kumar Publishes in Science


Congratulations to Natasha Kumar, Ph.D., Research Associate in the Bayliss Lab, whose paper, Regulation of breathing by CO2 requires the proton-activated receptor GPR4 in retrotrapezoid nucleus neurons, whose paper appears…

Douglas Bayliss Elected AAAS Fellow


Congratulations to Douglas A. Bayliss, Joseph and Frances Larner Professor and Chair of Pharmacology, who was recently selected as a fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)! UVAToday Editor Brian…

2014 Team Science Award


Congratulations to Kodi S. Ravichandran, Douglas A. Bayliss, Norbert Leitinger, Brant Isakson, Mark Yeager, Ulrike M. Lorenz, and Bimal Desai for winning the distinguished Dean's Award for Excellence in Team Science Research! Colleagues described their research together as follows:…

F31 for Janelle Weaver


Congratulations to Pharmacology Graduate Student Janelle Weaver (Bayliss Lab) who was awarded a Ruth L. Kirschstein Predoctoral Fellowship from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke; Janelle will be exploring a…